Easy Beef Stoganoff

Creamy mushroom sauce with ground beef and egg noodles.

wp-1487982890945.jpg

Hamburger Helper™.  You KNOW you’ve cooked with it before…  I’m not ashamed to admit it!  I also ate it probably once a week as a kid when we were busy running here and there.  My favorites were lasagna, teriyaki rice and of course, stroganoff.  So easy and it was so good!  But one day I told myself that I would never make it again… something about those packets of powdered cream and seasonings made me rethink what I was serving to my family.

My hubby asked me years and years ago to make stoganoff like “from the box” and this recipe is what I came up with.  It really doesn’t take more time than that box and has much more flavor too.  Yes, this recipe is not fancy and that’s okay with me – my family likes it and I can get it to the table in under 30 minutes when I want to feed them a home-cooked meal before they go off to do their thing for the evening.

Easy Beef Stroganoff 

  • 1 lb. ground beef, browned and drained
  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
  • 2 cups dry egg noodles, cooked per package directions
  • ½ cup sour cream
  • ¼ cup milk
  • 4 tsp beef bouillon
  • ½ tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp parsley
  1. Cook egg noodles per package direction, drain and set aside.
  2. Brown and drain fat from ground beef.
  3. Stir in cream of mushroom soup, sour cream, milk, beef bouillon.  Season with pepper and parsley.
  4. Toss in noodles and cook on medium heat until noodles are heated thru and sauce thickens, about 5 minutes.

Recipe Notes:

  • I’ll serve this with a side of sweet peas or corn, whichever we’re in the mood for.
  • If you have the extra time, toss in some sliced, Cremini mushrooms for more flavor. Add them in with the noodles and cook until desired tenderness.
  • Lighten up the calories by using 98% fat free cream of mushroom soup, fat free milk and light sour cream (about 360 per serving).

Prep Time:  20 minutes     Total Time:  25 minutes     Servings:  4

Estimated Calories Per Serving – based on 4 servings – 415.  Based on regular cream of mushroom soup, regular sour cream and 1% milk.

Leave a comment